13th Floor Entertainment Presents Arkona


Metsatoll, Wind Rose, Adavant, Olden

Tue, September 10, 2019

6:00 pm

Club Red

Mesa, AZ

$20.00 - $23.00

This event is 12 and over

Аркона (Arkona) is a Russian folk/pagan metal band from Moscow, formerly known as Гиперборея.
Founded in February 2002, the band cease to exist in September 2003. It was reformed in 2004 by Мария Архипова (aka Masha "Scream") with the help of musicians of Nargathrond.
Their lyrics and music are strongly influenced by Russian folklore and Slavic mythology.

Line-up (2018):
Мария Архипова aka Masha "Scream": vocals, keyboards (since 2002)
Сергей Атрашкевич aka Сергей "Lazar": guitars (since 2004)
Руслан "Kniaz": bass (since 2004)
Андрей Ищенко: drums (since 2014)
Владимир "Волк" Решетников: wind ethnic instruments (since 2009)

Former members:
Koroliov Alexamder "Warlock": drums (2002 to 2003)
Влад "Artist": drums (2004 to 2013)
Евгений Князев: guitars (2002 to 2003)
Илья Богатырев: guitars (2002 to 2003)
Евгений Борзов: bass (2002 to 2003)
Ольга Логинова: keyboards (2002 to 2003)

Владимир Череповский : wind ethnic instruments (2005-2009)
On 24 February 1999, three men held a meeting at the borders of the Pääsküla bog, in the singer and guitar player Markus's basement, one of whom could play a little bit of guitar, another who knew how to play a little bit of drums, and a third who had come up with a sufficiently ancient-sounding name that would be just right for a heavy metal band – 'Metsatöll' (the name "Metsatöll" is an ancient Estonian euphemism for wolf).The thought soon turned into reality and over the next few days four or five songs were composed and a couple of months later there was an entire album-full of them. The demo album Terast mis hangund me hinge was released in the autumn of 1999. Soon afterwards, Lauri joined the band, bringing with him a second guitar, the torupill, kannels and flutes.

In early 2001, the original bass player was replaced by Kuriraivo. A year later, a single and video for the song Hundi loomine were released.

Metsatöll's current line-up was finalised in 2004, when Atso took up the place behind the kit. At that same year, the album Hiiekoda was released, which multiplied the number of the band's fans several hundred times, crushed all previous sales records for an Estonian metal artist and won Metsatöll the Best Metal Act 2005 award at the Estonian Music Awards ceremony.

In 2006, the same award was won for the album Terast mis hangund me hinge 10218, a re-recorded and re-arranged version of the band's demo album. The live DVD See You On The Battlefield! was recorded during the album's presentation show, and it won the title of Best DVD 2006. At that very same year Metsatöll and the Estonian National Male Choir composed an arrangement of Veljo Tormis's magnum opus, Raua needmine; a DVD was released in Estonia and Germany of the show that took place in the ruins of the Pirita cloister.

Metsatöll's third album, Iivakivi, released in February 2008, won the band the now familiar Metal Act of the Year award from the Estonian Music Awards ceremony. At the same year, Metsatöll signed a contract with Universal's Finnish subsidiary, Spinefarm Records.

To celebrate the band's 10th birthday, a 2DVD/CD Kõva Kont (2009) was released, which will be Metsatöll's final release published with the band's own resources. More than five hours of stuff to watch and listen, from between the years 2000-2008, it provides a thorough overview of the band's history – from rehearsals recorded in a basement and the very first gigs attended by both of their fans, to the show at the Rabarock festival, cheered by a stadium full of people, and the concert Märkamisaeg, which was attended by an audience of more than 100 000.

In the autumn of 2009, Metsatöll joined Ensiferum (FIN) for an European tour of 31 shows in 11 countries. By today, the band has played more than 250 shows in Europe and the US, and has sold more than 30 000 albums.

On 15 january 2010, the online-single and video Vaid vaprust was released, a first taste of Metsatöll's fourth album Äio, due out on 3 March. All the music and lyrics on the album were conceived in the isolation of a small farmstead in Hargla, South Estonia. This provided the songs with a breath that, according to the guys themselves, cannot be achieved in a big city. Äio was recorded in Finnvox studios in Finland and Sinusoid studios in Estonia. The album was mixed by the legendary producer and sound engineer Mikko Karmila.

* On their homepage, and to date their releases, Metsatöll uses the chronology of the local natural religion. It begins with the Billingen catastrophe of 8213 before Common Era, when the Baltic ice lake broke its way into the ocean and most of the current territory of Estona appeared from under the water.
Wind Rose
Wind Rose
Italian power metal band formed in 2009 in Pisa.
Venue Information:
Club Red
1306 W. University Dr
Mesa, AZ, 85201